My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises – Fredrik Backman

I finished this book last  night… and immediately went back to the start to read it again.  I loved this story! It was the kind of love where I got irrationally angry about having to do things like get off the train, or go to work, or… y’know… eat… because those things meant I had to put the book down.

EnayWpL (1).gif

The story starts with nearly-eight-year-old Elsa and her Granny, and follows Elsa as she goes on a treasure hunt. The clues for the treasure hunt are letters for Elsa to deliver, in which her Granny sends her regards and apologises. I don’t want to give away any more than that, because the story is so beautifully told, and just trust me, you want to read it and watch the narrative unwind as it’s supposed to without me spoiling it!

Backman explores themes of grief and regret through the eyes of his precocious seven year old protagonist, as well as painting a gorgeous picture of family, and what that means. In the blurb, storytelling is referred to as a superpower, and I think it’s no exaggeration to say that this is Backman’s superpower. To be completely honest, I can’t even tell you exactly why this story touched me so much – but something about this contemporary fairytale got properly under my skin and into my imagination.


Now if you’ll excuse me, the cloud animals are waiting to take me back to Miamas…

6 thoughts on “My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises – Fredrik Backman

  1. Hi Becki,

    Another interesting and amusing review.

    I do enjoy reading about what you have been reading and have realised that this is because your enthusiasm for books and the written word is infectious – so much so that I have actually bought one of the books that you have featured in the past!

    Here’s a slightly crazy idea [but sometimes it’s good to think outside the box].

    Why don’t you submit some of your blogs to local newspapers, magazines etc and offer to write more on a regular basis [possibly free of charge] for a book review column.

    I’m sure that if they were published it would be a huge feather in your cap for your CV.

    Dennis

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dennis, what lovely comments! It’s certainly worth a try. I’m happy my ramblings are entertaining! Which book did you buy? I’d love to know what you think of it 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Becki,

    I really enjoyed it!

    Some books take some time to ‘get into’ but I was hooked virtually from page one and found myself looking forward to reading each of Judy’s letters, almost as much as I presume Mr Smith would have done.

    Here are some of the things that I liked :-

    • The way that Judy’s character can be observed to change from a dependent adolescent to a confident independent young woman, taking her first steps along the way to achieving her ambition to become an author.
    • Despite very little dramatic happening in the book [even the climax feels understated] Judy’s letters made mundane everyday occurrences seem interesting
    • Although the book was written over 100 years ago it felt quite modern when I was reading it
    • How Judy is determined to make the best of her life
    • The variations in the tone of her letters e.g. childish, skittish, angry
    • Most of all I warmed to Judy’s personality – in particular her sense of humour and her joie de vivre.

    Thanks very much for recommending this book. I’m now a bit of a Jean Webster fan and thinking of reading Dear Enemy.

    I have ordered a copy of ‘My Grandmother sends her regards & apologises’ as you gave that one a good review also and I’m looking forward to reading it when it arrives.

    Dennis

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Dennis, I’m so happy you enjoyed it! Many of the reasons you list are the same reasons I love it too. This blog is all about spreading the love of books, so I’m incredibly happy I’ve been able to help you find some more stories you can love. I hope you enjoy MGSHRAA! Becki 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

