Breathe – Sarah Crossan

This was another birthday gift.

It’s YA fiction. It’s sci-fi future dystopian. I loved it.

Do I really need to say much more than that?!

Probably not, but I will. I’ve always been a fan of dystopian-future fiction (1984 was an early favourite) and there is a special place in my heart for YA fiction. Breathe, the first instalment in a mini-series by Sarah Crossan (yes, that one – she also wrote One, which is currently making a huge splash in all the charts), I swallowed whole in one day. It is pitched younger than most of the YA fiction I read, in my opinion; the prose is very very accessible, and some of the scientific ideas are a teensy bit glossed over where I might have wanted more in depth exploration, but for me it didn’t dampen the reading experience. I have absolutely zero objection to reading and enjoying children’s literature, so this isn’t so much a criticism as an observation. I’m looking forward to getting my paws on the next instalment!

IMG_20160621_082155753

2 thoughts on “Breathe – Sarah Crossan

Leave a Reply

