Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

So I gave up on Catch 22.

#oops

It won’t be forever, though… and I made a deal with the friend who lent me my next read (and the topic of today’s post) that when she’s read Pride & Prejudice (I was honestly flabberghasted that she hasn’t!) I will finish Catch 22. So.

In the meantime, I did a complete re-read of Harry Potter (I basically spent two days on the couch in my pjs, reading and spooning the neighbour’s cat. It was heaven.), took a break from recreational reading to study for an interview, and got lent today’s topic – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

I loved it! Think like a mash up of fairy tale, mystery, Victoriana, and photo-journalism. It’s very Neil Gaiman-esque (and we know I love him) but with more photography.

Things I didn’t know before I read this:

  1. It’s the first in the series. You will put it down wanting to know what happens next.
  2. The photographs are all found photos. There’s a bunch about it at the end of the book, but essentially the author went through literally thousands of pictures donated from collectors and found himself. It’s really creepy-cool!

I’m looking forward to seeing the movie and to reading the rest of the books.miss-peregrine

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

