Abandon, Underworld & Awaken – Meg Cabot

I finally joined a library!

Yes, having long been a fan in principal, I actually got my butt in gear to put my money where my mouth is and join up at my local library, and after yesterday’s interview I immediately went and maxed out my loan limit. BRILLIANT.

Now, regular readers of this blog may have started to notice some patterns in my reading habits. I have eclectic tastes, yes – but certain things are more likely to pop up:

  1. YA fiction
  2. Reworkings or modern takes on fairy & folk tales
  3. Magic/mystery/fantasy with dark, wistful undertones
  4. Anything with a storytelling focus

So when I found the Abandon trilogy in the ‘teen’ section, and saw that it was (essentially) a YA reworking of the Hades/Persephone origin myth, I leapt on them. And – no surprises here – I loved them! I finished all three before going to sleep last night (which is why I’ve lumped them together in one post; they don’t take long to read and they’re all parts of one story) and dreamed about adventures and good and evil all night.

I’ve enjoyed Meg Cabot’s writing (of Princess Diaries fame) since I was an actual teenager, and although these books weren’t super well written (it feels like they’ve not been properly proofed, actually, with errors and typos creeping through – so grammar sticklers beware!) I think I actually enjoyed these stories the most out of anything of hers I’ve read, which is saying quite a lot.

I’ll definitely be reading these again!img_2379

Leave a Reply

